Does a diaper bag count as a carry-on when you fly with a lap infant?

By · Updated

On American, United, JetBlue and Air Canada, no: one diaper bag rides free on top of your own two bags. On Alaska, Delta and Southwest it counts as one of your bags, and Ryanair and easyJet allow one baby bag with a size cap. A diaper bag small enough to pass as your own personal item on the strictest airline of the trip: that's our pick. The trade-off is less room for spare clothes and diapers on the airlines that would have let a bigger bag ride free.

Eleven airlines on the lap infant's bags

A tan diaper backpack beside a folded sage changing mat, a small stack of white diapers, a baby bottle with a terracotta cap, and a folded green stroller.

Every row reflects the airline's published rules as of 17 Oct 2026, for a baby under 2 flying on your lap. "Not stated" means the page we read is silent.

AirlineExtra diaper bag free?Stroller / car seat free?Lap-infant allowance
AmericanYes: "Diaper bags (1 per child)" don't count as your personal item or carry-onYes: 1 stroller and 1 car seat checked free per ticketed customerInternational only: 1 checked bag free, up to 25 lbs (11 kg) and 22 x 14 x 9 in
DeltaNot stated; the free infant items are a booster or infant seat and a breast pump with its cooler bagYes: no fees, and they don't count toward the allowance"If children are traveling for free, they don't have a baggage allowance"
UnitedYes: "A diaper bag and breast pump (even if you're not traveling with your child)"Yes: "A car seat, child safety harness or stroller"Not stated
SouthwestNot statedYes: 1 stroller and 1 car seat per child, checked"A Lap Child may not check or carry on any baggage."
AlaskaNo: "a diaper bag will count toward the standard carry-on limit of the ticketed adult passenger"In the cabin without counting toward your carry-on limit: a stroller, space available, and an FAA-approved car seat "to be occupied by a child""Lap infants are not entitled to their own carry-on allowance."
JetBlueYes: "One diaper bag for lap infants"Car seat: yes, for an infant; stroller: not statedNot stated
FrontierAn "Exempt item" with the infant, but the same row marks it "Carry-on: No"Yes: both exempt from feesNot stated
Air CanadaYes: "1 additional standard article for your child's belongings such as a diaper bag"Stroller: yes, if it folds to 25.5 cm across and 92 cm long; car seat: if you bought the child a seatThe extra standard article
British Airways"An extra bag for them for in-flight essentials, which is included in your allowance"Yes: two essential extras in the hold, even on Basic faresOne 23 kg checked bag, except on Basic fares
RyanairA baby bag "of up to 5kg (dimensions: 45x35x20cms), free of charge"Yes: 2 items of baby equipment per child"There is no cabin bag allowance for an infant"
easyJetA changing bag, "max. 45 x 36 x 20 cm", under the seat in frontYes: up to two items per child, in the holdOnly the changing bag

Of these pages, only Frontier's list prints a date: its PDF file title says July 2026. We'll check every row again in January 2027. Adult bag sizes for each airline are on the under-seat limits by airline page.

Alaska, Delta and Southwest: the baby's things share your two bags

Alaska, Delta and Southwest are the three US airlines here with nothing extra. Alaska puts the diaper bag inside the adult's own carry-on limit. Delta's page says that for a child flying free, "any baggage for the child counts as part of the adult's baggage allowance." Southwest's page is shorter still: a lap child may not check or carry on any baggage. On all three, the diaper bag is your personal item or your carry-on.

Frontier's special items list is the odd one out. It lists a diaper bag as an "Exempt item" for a parent flying with the infant, adds "no charges apply", then marks the same row "Carry-on: No". Frontier's bag page lists a personal item of 8 x 18 x 14 in (depth, width, height) as the only bag included with every ticket.

Worked example: a roller and a 35 L duffle against six US airlines

A parent on r/HerOneBag planned a rolling carry-on at 22 x 14 x 9 in and a 35 L backpack duffle of about 19 or 20 x 13.5 x 8 in for under the seat, with a car seat on a trolley. The post doesn't say whether the toddler flew on a lap. The suggestions below assume a lap infant. Checked against each airline's own numbers, read 17 Oct 2026:

AirlineUnder-seat limitDoes the duffle pass?Our suggestion
American18 x 14 x 8 inNo, its longest side is 1 to 2 in overUse the free diaper bag slot for a smaller bag
United9 x 10 x 17 inNo, 2 to 3 in over on the longest side and 3.5 in on the nextSame: a smaller bag in the free diaper bag slot
JetBlue17 x 13 x 8 in (length, width, height)No, 2 to 3 in over on length and 0.5 in on widthA smaller bag as the lap infant's diaper bag
Frontier8 x 18 x 14 in (depth, width, height)No, its longest side is 1 to 2 in over the 18 in widthAsk Frontier about the diaper bag before you pack
SouthwestNo size printed; it goes under the seat in front of youNot knownPack the baby's things inside your own two bags
DeltaNo size on the infant pageNot knownPack the baby's things inside your own two bags

The roller fits on each of the six, since 22 x 14 x 9 in matches American, United and JetBlue exactly and Southwest and Frontier print 24 x 16 x 10 in (a paid bag on Frontier), while the duffle is over the limit on every airline that prints a size. A bag of about 17 x 10 x 8 in, which fits United's width and the 8 in depth of American, JetBlue and Frontier, passes on American, United, JetBlue and Frontier.

Ryanair and easyJet: one baby bag with a size cap

Europe's two biggest low-cost airlines give the infant no cabin bag, only a baby bag with a printed size. Ryanair's is 45 x 35 x 20 cm and up to 5 kg. easyJet's changing bag is 45 x 36 x 20 cm and must go under the seat in front of you. That's 1 cm narrower on Ryanair, which also sets a weight, so a bag packed for easyJet may still need a weigh at home. British Airways words it differently: the infant's extra bag for in-flight essentials "is included in your allowance", and BA says you "can't combine your baggage allowances". Ask BA how that applies to your fare before you count on a third bag.

Car seats on board

The FAA's family page (last updated 18 August 2026) says that buying a ticket for your child is how you "guarantee that you will be able to use a CRS for your child under two years old". Under 14 CFR 121.311, a US seat made on or after 26 February 1985 needs two labels, one of them "THIS RESTRAINT IS CERTIFIED FOR USE IN MOTOR VEHICLES AND AIRCRAFT" in red lettering, and apart from listed exceptions the rule bars booster, vest, harness and lap-held types during taxi, takeoff and landing. Delta adds that a booster seat brought on board can't be used for taxi, takeoff or landing.

TSA lets formula, breast milk and baby food over 3.4 ounces through outside the quart bag (page last updated 28 July 2022); the liquids guide covers screening.

Our pick: one diaper bag that also passes as your personal item

Size the diaper bag to the smallest under-seat limit on the trip. If an airline gives it a free slot, it rides free. If the airline counts it, as Alaska, Delta and Southwest do, it becomes your personal item and the bigger bag goes overhead. Air Canada is the exception to plan around: its personal item is 16 cm high, but it gives a lap infant an extra standard article, so the diaper bag doesn't need to fit that.

Parents on r/HerOneBag pack with the same squeeze in mind. One, travelling for a few weeks with a baby and a toddler, wanted a "diaper bag on the go" pack that would fit under an airplane seat or in the travel stroller basket. Another, on a trip to Seattle with a 17-month-old flying as a lap infant, wrote "We decided to not bring the stroller which I was very happy with" and wore the 25 lb toddler in a carrier.

Official sources (read 17 Oct 2026): American traveling with children · Southwest carry-on policy · Frontier bag options · easyJet cabin bags · Ryanair infants · FAA Kids' Corner · 14 CFR 121.311 · TSA breast milk and formula

FAQ

Does a paid ticket for the baby change the bags on Delta?

Yes. On an international ticket at 10% of the adult fare, Delta allows "one checked bag up to 20 lbs. (10kg)" with a maximum of 45 inches for length plus width plus height, plus one fully collapsible stroller. On a ticket at "50% or more of the adult fare", the child gets the standard allowance.

What if my baby turns 2 during the trip?

The lap allowance ends for the rest of the trip. American says the child "will need their own seat for the remainder of the trip", and Ryanair charges "the full fare for that return flight only".

Markdown version of this page